Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 General SQL Server Forums
 New to SQL Server Programming
 how to include other sql script?

Author  Topic 

whitefreesia.bai
Starting Member

6 Posts

Posted - 2013-07-03 : 11:56:51
Hi,

I am new to SQL Server.
My script basically looks like this.

-- define a, b, c
with a as (
select ......
),
b as (
select ....
),
c as (
select ....
)
-- main sql1
select a.xxx, b.xxx
from a inner join b on .....

-- main sql2
select a.xxx, b.xxx, c.xxx
from a inner join b on .....
inner join c on ....

-- main sql3
select .....

The problem is I can't run the three main sql consecutively. It runs well for main sql1, but doesn't run for sql2 and sq3 because the definition of a, b, c is not saved. I wonder if I can save the first part of the code in some other file or function and just include it before each main sql. I came to this kind of code is because I don't have permission to write tables or procedures on the sql server. If there is another way to optimize my code, please feel free to let me know. Any advice is appreciated. Thanks a lot!!!

MIK_2008
Master Smack Fu Yak Hacker

1054 Posts

Posted - 2013-07-03 : 12:03:02
It seems like you're using CTE, which is usable for once just after its definition.

For sql2, you may wind up your logic like

SELECT ColumnsList
FROM (SELECT ..... )a ON ...
INNER JOIN (SELECT ....)b ON ...
INNER JOIN (SELECT ....)c ON ...

Cheers
MIK
Go to Top of Page

whitefreesia.bai
Starting Member

6 Posts

Posted - 2013-07-03 : 12:44:33
Thanks MIK. Actually that is exactly what I try not to do. My CTEs are very long and I don't want to write them repeatedly for each main SQL. If I need to make little revision to the CTEs, I have to revise all of them which is not safe.

Thanks.

quote:
Originally posted by MIK_2008