Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 SQL Server 2008 Forums
 Transact-SQL (2008)
 need help to correctly select data from 2 tables

Author  Topic 

greenEmerald
Starting Member

4 Posts

Posted - 2013-09-10 : 15:31:24
Hello all, I am no sql pro, and need some assistance with an issue involving two tables for a select statement.

Here are the tables along with their columns(for simplicity, tables will be called 1 and 2):

table 1

- AccountID
- ID

table 2
- ID
- HomeDate (if this value IS NULL, that means the owner DOES NOT have a home on that lot)
- LotNumber

table 1 and 2 are linked by the ID column. This select statement if suppose to display all accounts that DO NOT have a home, yet own lot/s.

Here is my statement:
SELECT 1.AccountID, (SELECT COUNT(2.LotNumber)) AS lotCount
FROM 1
LEFT JOIN 2
ON 1.ID = 2.ID
AND 2.HomeDate IS NULL
GROUP BY 1.AccountID

For the owners that do not have a home, yet own a lot/s, I want their accountID displayed, along with how many lots they own.
Yet for the life of me I CANNOT get it to work :(
I know its something small but I been working on this for half the day and its so frustrating.

For those that take the time to help me out, I thank you greatly.

ScottPletcher
Aged Yak Warrior

550 Posts

Posted - 2013-09-10 : 16:46:08
[code]

SELECT 1.AccountID, COUNT(2.ID) AS LotCount
FROM 1
LEFT JOIN 2
ON 1.ID = 2.ID
AND 2.HomeDate IS NULL
GROUP BY 1.AccountID
HAVING COUNT(2.ID) >= 1 --list those who own at least one lot

[/code]
Go to Top of Page

greenEmerald
Starting Member

4 Posts

Posted - 2013-09-11 : 10:42:02
quote:
Originally posted by ScottPletcher

FROM 1
LEFT JOIN 2
ON 1.ID = 2.ID
AND 2.HomeDate IS NULL
GROUP BY 1.AccountID
HAVING COUNT(2.ID) >= 1 --list those who own at least one lot

javascript:insertsmilie('')