Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 SQL Server 2008 Forums
 SQL Server Administration (2008)
 Security Logins Differ

Author  Topic 

dchst
Starting Member

12 Posts

Posted - 2013-09-13 : 06:19:11
Hi,

I have a simple software package written in VB6 that connects to SQLExpress. The package uses SQL authentication to connect to the database. I have one client who is ultra security conscious and has decided to attack the SQL database to make sure it is secure. Unrecognised names (to the user) have been deleted and passwords changed.

I have managed to correct some of the problems, but I am no expert on SQL and I cannot get the package to connect to the database. I can connect to the database on MSSMS under both Windows Authentication and SQL authentication (using the same login as the package uses). I have noticed that using the SQL authentication under Security\Logins there are some system logins and the SQL authentication logins. Under the Windows authentication there are no logins at all.

I have been unable to create new users (logins) in the security area for the Windows authentication. It puzzles me that there is a difference between the two as I would have thought they would always remain essentially the same. The client is using Small Business Server 2011 Standard 64-bit and SQL 2008R2. Any help or advice will be appreciated...

tkizer
Almighty SQL Goddess

38200 Posts

Posted - 2013-09-13 : 10:24:17
Please post the error from the package.

Windows and SQL accounts are different. They will not be in sync. If you can connect using Windows and you don't see a Windows account for your connection, then it's because you are in a group that has access or builtin\administrators group has access (and you are local admin).