Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 General SQL Server Forums
 New to SQL Server Programming
 how to insert a date range parameter

Author  Topic 

Lumber
Starting Member

3 Posts

Posted - 2013-09-16 : 12:07:01
I am new to SQL. I am pulling information from my POS system which took some time to figure out. I am trying to pull MTD and YTD sales for this year and last year.

I have this line to pull all invoices between two dates:
WHERE (invc_hdr.ivh_dt Between '08/01/2013' And '08/31/13')
But I want to be able to put the dates in without having to change the code each time. I want a window to pop up so I can input the date range. Is there a way to do this.

Any help would be great.

SwePeso
Patron Saint of Lost Yaks

30421 Posts

Posted - 2013-09-16 : 14:52:06
1) Write the code as a stored procedure
2) Write the code as a inline table valued function

CREATE FUNCTION dbo.fnMyFunction
(
@FromDate DATE,
@ToDate DATE
)
RETURNS TABLE
AS
RETURN (
SELECT ...
FROM ...
WHERE invc_hdr.ivh_dt BETWEEN @FromDate AND @ToDate
)
GO

SELECT *
FROM dbo.fnMyFunction('20130801', '20130814');

Microsoft SQL Server MVP, MCT, MCSE, MCSA, MCP, MCITP, MCTS, MCDBA
Go to Top of Page

Lumber
Starting Member

3 Posts

Posted - 2013-09-16 : 17:05:34
I am pulling the data using ODBC. So I am not sure if this will work. I think I am a little over my head.
Go to Top of Page

erikhaselhofer
Starting Member

30 Posts

Posted - 2013-09-19 : 23:34:22
This is really easy from a technical perspective.

Look up "form processing" and your language: PHP/ASP/whatever. There will be tons of tutorials on how to handle to do this. You'll be able to copy them almost verbatim except for the SQL. Dates can get a little bit messy, depending on formatting, so you may need to find a validation script of some sort, usually JavaScript.