Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 SQL Server 2005 Forums
 Transact-SQL (2005)
 Different Values needs to update in same cell

Author  Topic 

Ganesan
Starting Member

4 Posts

Posted - 2013-11-15 : 01:55:02
Hi experts,

I'm New to SQL server 2005 (EVEN DATABASE QUERIES),I need a help on the same.
I have the Update command to Update the "phone number" into a table.
User May change the phone number many times, i would like to make a record of what are the phone numbers updated by the User.

USERID PHONE NUMBER

0001 01234562,01542252,01254545

FROM THE ABOVE TABLE THE USER UPDATED HIS PHONE NUMBER 3 TIMES AS ABOVE. SAME PHONE NUMBERS NEED NOT BE UPDATE.

IF THIS IS NOT A VALID POINT, THEN I CAN HAVE 3 COLUMNS LIKE
PHONE NUMBER1, PHONE NUMBER2, PHONE NUMBER3, WHEN FIRST TIME UPDATE COMMAND EXECUTES UPDATE IN THE FIRST COLUMN, THEN SECOND AND SO ON..
THIS WAY ALSO APPRECIATED.
HOW CAN WE ACHIEVE THIS? PLEASE HELP ME TO SOLVE THIS ISSUE.

bandi
Master Smack Fu Yak Hacker

2242 Posts

Posted - 2013-11-15 : 02:20:51
Check the follwoing approach

1) Tables
Users Table with all details UserId, UserName and PhoneNumber
UserPhoneHistory Table with UserId, PhoneNumbers

Users
UserId, UserName, PhoneNumber
1 chandu 6768974

UserPhoneHistory
UserId, PhoneNumbers
1 3234712
1 4542352

2) Whenever user wants to update Phone number then insert that deleted record into USerPhoneHistory table ( either use TRIGGER or Stored Procedure )

Trigger for UPDATE

CREATE TRIGGER Tr_UserPhoneUpdate
ON Users
FOR UPDATE
AS
IF ( UPDATE (PhoneNumber))
BEGIN
INSERT UserPhoneHistory (UserId, PhoneNumbers )
SELECT d.UserId, d.PhoneNumber
FROM deleted d
JOIN inserted i ON i.UserId = d.UserId
WHERE i.PhoneNumber NOT IN (SELECT u.PhoneNumbers FROM UserPhoneHistory u WHERE u.UserId = d.UserId )
END

NOTE: Also check for phone Number duplication

--
Chandu