Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 General SQL Server Forums
 New to SQL Server Programming
 Multiple select

Author  Topic 

willo009
Starting Member

5 Posts

Posted - 2013-12-04 : 13:54:12
Hi guys

I have been trying to get my code up and running but i just cannot get it to work. Tried many things, and im new to SQL. I have 3 tables and i have a search form with multiple search fields, that i want to be able to use. So the user can search whatever they want. I will list my tables and there fields below:

Tutors (WHICH HAS)
ID
TutorName
RoomNumber

Modules (WHICH HAS)
ID
Title
ModCode

Semesters (WHICH HAS)
ID
Semester
Year

I have got the Insert working, took me a while to workout as i found we cannot insert into multiple tables at one time in SQL. But i got this part working. My problem now is coding the SELECT statement, so it brings back the search for results. As the information it will be bringing back is from different tables? i have tried using the 'AND' Operator but alas it does not work for me. I could really do with some help on this now as im out of ideas. I will add my SearchPageScript below for you to see. Thankyou for any help with this issue.

<?php

$name = $_POST["Name"];
$title = $_POST["Title"];
$code = $_POST['ModCodeSearch'];
$semester = $_POST['SemesterSearch'];
$year = $_POST['YearSearch'];

// MAKE CONNECTION TO THE SERVER
$dbserverip = "localhost";
$dbusername = "root";
$dbuserpassword = "jack";
$connection = mysql_connect($dbserverip, $dbusername, $dbuserpassword) or die ("Could not connect to the SERVER");

// MAKE CONNECTION TO THE DATABASE
$dbname = "EvilG";
$dbselectok = mysql_select_db($dbname, $connection) or die ("Could not connect to the DATABASE");

// ISSUE A SELECT COMMAND TO THE RDBMS
$sqlstatement = "SELECT* FROM Tutors WHERE TutorName LIKE '%$name%'";

echo "<table border=1>";