Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 SQL Server 2012 Forums
 Transact-SQL (2012)
 Creating a login in the SQL Server instance

Author  Topic 

rafael.soteldo
Starting Member

36 Posts

Posted - 2014-02-11 : 08:59:19
Hi there:

I'm trying to develop applications that have the database on one machine and the application interface on other machines over a network.

I'm studying WCF to accomplish this.

I'm using VS2012, SQL Server Express 2012, and Windows 7 Ultimate x64 with IIS7.

In the WCF Documentation are instructions aimed at having Sql Server enable IIS to connect to the SQL Server instance.

One of those is:

CREATE LOGIN [NT AUTHORITY\NETWORK SERVICE] FROM WINDOWS;
GO

The documentation says that it creates a login in the SQL Server instance for the Windows account used to run IIS. This enables IIS to connect to the SQL Server instance.

I tried it in my instance of Sql Server Management Studio 2012 and I receive this error:

quote:
Msg 15401, Level 16, State 1, Line 1
Windows NT user group 'NT AUTHORITY\NETWORK SERVICE' not found. Check the name again.

I already installed WCF on Windows and registered aspnet, using the command prompt with Administrator privileges.

What could I be doing wrong here?

Thanks in advance for your time

-------
Rafael Soteldo

ahmeds08
Aged Yak Warrior

737 Posts

Posted - 2014-02-12 : 07:32:27
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/324321/en-us

Javeed Ahmed
Go to Top of Page

rafael.soteldo
Starting Member

36 Posts

Posted - 2014-02-12 : 07:45:18
quote:
Originally posted by ahmeds08

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/324321/en-us

Javeed Ahmed

Hi,

Thank you for answering,

This page won't open and it tells me that the information is encrypted

-------
Rafael Soteldo
Go to Top of Page

ahmeds08
Aged Yak Warrior

737 Posts

Posted - 2014-02-12 : 07:48:18
below is the content from the page: