SQL Server Forums
Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | Forum FAQ

Register Now and get your question answered!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 SQL Server 2008 Forums
 Transact-SQL (2008)
 Convert TEXT to XML
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

ryan.gillies
Starting Member

United Kingdom
27 Posts

Posted - 02/27/2014 :  12:22:29  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi all

I'm running SQL Server 2008 R2 Express, which is linked to a SQL Server 2000 instance.

In the SQL2000 instance there is a table with a column containing XML strings of approximately 8000 characters in length. The column is in TEXT format. I need to be able to read the nodes contained within this string. According the xml string, it is formatted in UTF-16.

This is my first time working with XML in TSQL, and I'm a bit stuck. I've tried converting it into an XML format with little luck as follows:
SELECT CONVERT(XML,[Content]) FROM [LinkedServer].[UPLSalesP].[dbo].[RSSDocument]

However I always receive the following error:
Msg 9402, Level 16, State 1, Line 1
XML parsing: line 1, character 39, unable to switch the encoding

Character 39 is the very end of the XML encoding tag:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-16"?>

Can anyone help shed any light on what I'm missing? I've attempted Google dozens of times today, but there seems to be little information regarding SQL2000 and XML that I can use.

Many thanks in advance.

visakh16
Very Important crosS Applying yaK Herder

India
52317 Posts

Posted - 02/27/2014 :  14:31:30  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
SQL 2000 doeant have XML data type. So you should use OPENXML
see
http://www.databasejournal.com/features/mssql/article.php/2204421/XML-and-SQL-2000-Part-2.htm

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SQL Server MVP
http://visakhm.blogspot.com/
https://www.facebook.com/VmBlogs