Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 General SQL Server Forums
 New to SQL Server Programming
 Setting up tables & relationships - SQL Noob

Author  Topic 

BenWalters
Starting Member

2 Posts

Posted - 2014-03-12 : 18:04:00
Hi Everyone,

I am new to SQL and databases in general so be gentle.
I am creating a small piece of software which handles a pre-advice data file, several scanner inputting weights and a supplier weight report.

The pre-advice contains a list of barcodes and details revolving around that barcode, each barcode will be scanned and a weight will be obtained, this will be place in the DB.

Currently my tables can be summarised like this.

Pre-Advice Table
Barcode
Lots of other info…

Scanners Table
Barcode
Date
Time
Weight
Which device input this information

Suppliers Weight Table
Barcode
Date
Time
Weight

Here is the process(es):
1. Pre-advice table populated.
2. When the barcode is scanned and a weight is obtained, a record will be added to the scanners table and this becomes the ‘active’ weight.
******** If there is already an ‘active’ weight against this barcode the user will be asked if they wish to use the ‘active’ weight already in the system or update the ‘active’ weight to the weight they have entered.
3. Then when the supplier weight report is inputted into its table, should the ‘active’ weight be less than the supplier weight, the supplier weight becomes the ‘active’ weight.

At any given time a user can pull a report based on information in the Pre-Advice table, which will need to include the ‘active’ weight for that barcode’s record.

Additionally, no weights should be deleted, I need a fully traceable log of who, what, where & when. I will need to pull reports on the trials of scans so it really is a must to keep these.