Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 General SQL Server Forums
 New to SQL Server Programming
 Montly archiving of tables

Author  Topic 

SQL.Newbie
Starting Member

3 Posts

Posted - 2014-03-27 : 04:42:31
Hi guys,

im very new to SQL and didn't work with SQL yet.
Still it's my job to solve a problem i can't on my own.
I hope you are willing to help me with that ;D.

The Database will hold 2 tables. One of those includes dates. They are joint by a constraint using an ID. What i got to do is, store the tables in a different schema named after the month the data was created. I will have to keep the original tables aktive because this should work while accessing the tables but can flush the data to keep the database small. So i would end up with 2 tables in 1 schema for every month and the productiv that keeps track of the current bookings.

I hope anyone does actualy understand what im trying to say ;D.
I would have access to the enterprise edition if that changes anything at all.

It would be GREAT if anyone could help me with that since im kinda stuck searching for this on the net. Guess thats mostly due to my own incompetence.

Robowski
Posting Yak Master

101 Posts

Posted - 2014-03-27 : 09:25:53
First, you are doing this on Microsoft SQL (T-SQL) and not Oracle etc?

Are you sure you need to store the achieved table in a different schema?

If so you need to create a schema this table will be apart of if you haven't already.

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms189462.aspx

Once you have a schema setup you can then decide how to archive. Can you post the table structure of the main table?

All the columns and their data types? If you expand the database in SSMS then expand the table right click and choose script to new query and post that.