Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 General SQL Server Forums
 New to SQL Server Programming
 Slow Query

Author  Topic 

ChrisK1506
Starting Member

6 Posts

Posted - 2014-07-23 : 09:26:03
Hi,

I am fairly new to SQL and wondered if anyone could assist me. I have the following query which is being flagged as an expensive query in the activity monitor. Is there anything I can do to speed it up?

UPDATE
TOP (1) dbo.KeyingQueue WITH (ROWLOCK)
SET
LockUid = @lockUid,
LockTimeStamp = GETDATE()
WHERE
FormTypeId = @formTypeId AND
KeyingStatusId = @operatorKeyingStatusId AND
Region = @region AND
LockUid IS NULL

The following index has been created and I can see from the execution plan that it is being used when executing the query.

CREATE NONCLUSTERED INDEX [IX_KeyingQueue_GetNext] ON [dbo].[KeyingQueue]
(
[FormTypeId] ASC,
[KeyingStatusId] DESC,
[Region] ASC
)
INCLUDE ( [LockUid]) WITH (PAD_INDEX = OFF, STATISTICS_NORECOMPUTE = OFF, SORT_IN_TEMPDB = OFF, DROP_EXISTING = OFF, ONLINE = OFF, ALLOW_ROW_LOCKS = ON, ALLOW_PAGE_LOCKS = ON, FILLFACTOR = 90) ON [PRIMARY]

There are roughly 200,000 rows in the KeyingQueue table.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

Chris

gbritton
Master Smack Fu Yak Hacker

2780 Posts

Posted - 2014-07-23 : 10:45:24
Well, for starters, why do you specify TOP(1) and WITH (ROWLOCK)? Surely those are not required. Also, note this about TOP:

quote:

When TOP is used with INSERT, UPDATE, MERGE, or DELETE, the referenced rows are not arranged in any order and the ORDER BY clause can not be directly specified in these statements. If you need to use TOP to insert, delete, or modify rows in a meaningful chronological order, you must use TOP together with an ORDER BY clause that is specified in a subselect statement.

Second, what is the CI (clustered index) on the table?