Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 SQL Server 2012 Forums
 Transact-SQL (2012)
 Table(s) update help

Author  Topic 

mikeallenbrown
Yak Posting Veteran

72 Posts

Posted - 2014-12-15 : 20:37:35
I have a patient table and about 50 other tables that represent various medical forms. All have "patientname", "clientid", and "mrnum" fields. I'm a SQL novice and when I created all of this I didn't set up any relationships or foreign keys. Each table is basically on it's own.

When a user updates a patient's name in my Patient table I want SQL to then go out and correct/update my other tables that contain the incorrect/old name.

What is the best way to do this?

Mike Brown

gbritton
Master Smack Fu Yak Hacker

2780 Posts

Posted - 2014-12-15 : 21:37:16
assuming a sensible naming convention, could use the undocumented sp_foreacthtable
Go to Top of Page

mikeallenbrown
Yak Posting Veteran

72 Posts

Posted - 2014-12-15 : 22:09:31
quote:
Originally posted by gbritton

assuming a sensible naming convention, could use the undocumented sp_foreacthtable

Thanks .... I'm a SQL newbie and after Googling "undocumented sp_foreacthtable" this is way over my head. I couldn't seem to find any clear instructions on how to do this.

Mike Brown
ITOT Solutions, Inc.
SQL Server 2012
Alpha Five v3 (12)
Go to Top of Page

gbritton

2780 Posts

Posted - 2014-12-16 : 09:08:18
This link: http://www.databasejournal.com/features/mssql/article.php/3441031/SQL-Server-Undocumented-Stored-Procedures-spMSforeachtable-and-spMSforeachdb.htm

is a pretty good description of how to do this kind of thing. First it shows you a cursor-based approach then a second method using the undocumented stored procedure. Work through it slowly and understand each piece. then, give it a try in your development sandbox. It's worth learning.
Go to Top of Page

mikeallenbrown