Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 SQL Server 2000 Forums
 SQL Server Administration (2000)
 Hide Server - Crap!? - or WOT? (Opinions!)

Author  Topic 

PapillonUK
Starting Member

22 Posts

Posted - 2004-07-19 : 11:09:22
When i moved over to a new SQL server this week i chose the option to hide the server - just cos it was there and i thought i'd be a secure chappy - at least it stops your server broadcasting itself to all those naughty old virusus (virions?)

But really, this ALWAYS moves the port from 1433 to 2433 - is there any point in this whatsoever? When you hide the server you have no option but to use this port! If i was a virus writer i'd just start writing virusus to check both ports.

This seems so obvious i must be missing something?
What's the general consensus?

Kristen
Test

22859 Posts

Posted - 2004-07-19 : 13:10:20
My consensus would be to use a firewall, I'm afraid ...

Kristen
Go to Top of Page

PapillonUK
Starting Member

22 Posts

Posted - 2004-07-19 : 13:28:26
We have a firewall protecting us from the outside world but that ain't gonna stop someone plugging into our internal network with a well travelled dirty old laptop... ;-)
Go to Top of Page

tkizer
Almighty SQL Goddess

38200 Posts

Posted - 2004-07-19 : 13:31:14
Well, I wouldn't use 1433, 1434, 2433, or any of the other common ports (there's a couple others that I found companies use). Pick a random port. I've always use a five digit one. Don't post it anywhere. Don't tell anyone except those who need to know.

I've never chosen the option to hide the SQL Server.

Tara
Go to Top of Page

Kristen
Test

22859 Posts

Posted - 2004-07-19 : 13:47:36
quote:
Originally posted by PapillonUK