Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 SQL Server 2000 Forums
 SQL Server Administration (2000)
 Performance problem with .NET application

Author  Topic 

kimbelj
Starting Member

13 Posts

Posted - 2004-08-19 : 12:00:14
I apologize in advance if this is the wrong forum. I'm a developer and not too much SQL Admin knowledge (and neither does my customer) but this problem seems to have something to do with the database server. I'm not sure what might be good information that might point to the problem but this is an overview:

The application is a ASP.Net (ADO.Net) application which sends an embedded SQL query to the server. I can run the application on my local development server and get a two second response time. Running on the customer's server (faster CPU, etc) at night with no traffic takes upwards of two minutes which is a completely unacceptable response time. I ran SQL Profiler (is it possible to post the trace?) and see that it chugs along first getting the query then repeating it over and over. The query consists of a concantenation of queries something like:

DROP TABLE ABRA_MAX;DROP TABLE ABRA_SUMS;DROP TABLE ABRA_TOTALS;SELECT st_sto_id AS store, MAX(ds_date_load) AS maxdate INTO ABRA_MAX FROM ABRA_STORE_SUM, ABRA_STORE, ABRA_CAPLOAD, ABRA_STORE_LOAD WHERE sto_clm_id = cl_clm_id AND st_cl_id = cl_id AND ds_st_id = st_id GROUP BY st_sto_id;SELECT sto_id, etc.

In the profiler it appears the server runs this with a duration of approximately 10 seconds then starts over again breaking apart the queries individually separated by "exec sp_reset_connection" events:

DROP TABLE ABRA_MAX
exec sp_reset_connection
DROP TABLE ABRA_SUMS
exec sp_reset_connection
SELECT N'Testing Connection...'
EXECUTE msdb.dbo.sp_sqlagent_get_perf_counters