Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 Old Forums
 CLOSED - General SQL Server
 SQL Server Errors

Author  Topic 

mwithrow
Starting Member

6 Posts

Posted - 2004-11-30 : 11:11:03
Hello,
I am new to SQL and I running SQL 2000 SP3 on W2K3. I am running 1 instance with 3 DB's. Upon setting up the 3rd DB I got the following error in the Event Viewer.

Failed to open the database connection: Unspecified error, Source: Microsoft OLE DB Provider for ODBC Drivers, Description: [Microsoft][ODBC SQL Server Driver]Timeout expired; provider error 0: value = -2147467259, description = [Microsoft][ODBC SQL Server Driver]Timeout expired, source = Microsoft OLE DB Provider for ODBC Drivers, sql state = S1T00, native error = 0

Can anyone assist me?

tkizer
Almighty SQL Goddess

38200 Posts

Posted - 2004-11-30 : 13:32:59
What else are you running on this server? SQL Server should be on a dedicated machine. The fact that this error is popping up on the SQL Server means that you are running other things. The default timeout setting is 30 seconds in most applications. SQL Server isn't timing out per se as it allows you to run queries indefinitely. But your application has the timeout option so is cancelling the query after 30 seconds. So you can up this value in your connection string, or fix the performance problem which could involve database redesign, query redesign, hardware upgrade, etc...

Tara
Go to Top of Page

mwithrow
Starting Member

6 Posts

Posted - 2004-11-30 : 14:08:41
Hello Tara,