Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 Site Related Forums
 The Yak Corral
 No offence intended to any one here!

Author  Topic 

hog
Constraint Violating Yak Guru

284 Posts

Posted - 2005-06-04 : 06:09:21
I fully understand that this forum like any other is information given as good will gesture to aid others and no one here is to expect responses from threads posted.

When I first came to this forum my advice from members was to read books, read this site and ask questions, which is what I do.

I am very new to T-SQL, I have no interaction with our corporate system other than using T-SQL to query data for user reports. I have no control on how the data is written to the tables I query.

Since being a member of this forum I have learned a huge amount for which I am truly grateful.

What I don't understand is the reason behind members who reply to posts with sarcastic comments at someones attempt to solve a problem who are using the only knowledge they have but who wish to learn better ways.

Even more so I do not understand why when a question is then directed to these members to ask "well if this is such an awfull way to do it and you know better please show me so I can learn.", they go silent?

In my line of work I also train users etc and when I see someone doing something in an ineficient way, or they do not understand something I do my best to teach them the correct way. I do not think as I know more than them it give me the right to look down my nose and make fun of them.

I know system developers who are up with the gods who can write amazing corporate systems who look at the graphic programs I have written and they say "how the hell did you do that?" but this does not make me better than them.