Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 SQL Server 2000 Forums
 SQL Server Administration (2000)
 Log Shipping Fail Over & Questions

Author  Topic 

spepi
Starting Member

17 Posts

Posted - 2005-06-20 : 16:36:54
I just set up Log Shipping. Im new to SQL, so excuse me if I get some terms wrong.

Log Shipping seams to be working...I can see the .trn files backed up the secondary machine, secondry machine db is in read only mode.

1. What steps do I need to do to use the secondary server? I want to implement a server failure and see how the failover method works, but I dont understand what I need to do.

Need help..going blind with all the different ways to do this...Im looking for a solution that is not too painful and has a quick turnaround to use secondary server with manual intervantion.

thanks

tkizer
Almighty SQL Goddess

38200 Posts

Posted - 2005-06-20 : 16:45:17
Once you have determined you need to move to your secondary server, you need to see if you can perform a final transaction log backup on the primary server. If you can, then great, you won't miss any data. Do that, then copy the file over to the secondary server, then restore the tlog using the WITH RECOVERY option of the RESTORE command. If you can't perform a final tlog backup, then you'll need to use the RESTORE command using the WITH RECOVERY option on your last tlog. So that one will have restored twice. First time via log shipping using WITH NORECOVERY option. Second time via manual RESTORE command using WITH RECOVERY option. Your secondary server is now ready. You might need to unorphan your user accounts using sp_change_users_login. Some of our applications hard code a few things in the database that we need to update when we switch database servers, so now is the time to run these if you have this "issue".