Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 SQL Server 2000 Forums
 Transact-SQL (2000)
 how to combine two tables in stored procedure

Author  Topic 

AskSQLTeam
Ask SQLTeam Question

0 Posts

Posted - 2005-06-28 : 10:41:53
Vishwa Rao writes "I have two select statements giving different data sets. So I cannot use UNION.
I need to concatenate them and display in a asp.net datagrid. I thought I can do something like this:
Store results of select statements in two seperate tables. Then concatenate the rows from tbl1 and tbl2 to generate a new table tbl3. It does not work. Here is the stored procedure code. I am new to stored procedure - my second day! I would appreciate corrections or suggestions.

CREATE PROCEDURE dbo.ResourceDetailsGivenEventId_sp
(
@eid varchar(50)

)
AS
declare @type varchar(50)
declare @srcid varchar(50)
declare @ch varchar(100)
declare @sla integer
declare @service varchar(100)

Declare @tbl1 table (RowId int identity(1,1), ResourceId varchar(100), ResouceDescription varchar(100), ResourceLocation varchar(100), ResourceDetails varchar(100))
Declare @tbl2 table (RowId int identity(1,1), ChannelDescription varchar(100), DescriptionDescription varchar(100), ServiceContact varchar(100))
Declare @tbl3 table (RowId int identity(1,1), ResourceId varchar(100), ResouceDescription varchar(100), ResourceLocation varchar(100), ResourceDetails varchar(100), ChannelDescription varchar(100), DescriptionDescription varchar(100), ServiceContact varchar(100))

Select @sla=slaid, @srcid=EventSourceId, @type=EventSourceGeneric from dbo.tEvent where EventId=@eid
Select @service=ServiceId, @ch=ChannelId from dbo.tSLA where SLAID=@sla

if @type='Device'
insert @tbl1
Select ResourceID, ResourceDescription, ResourceLocation, ResourceDetails from dbo.tResource where ResourceIP=@srcid

insert @tbl2