Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 SQL Server 2000 Forums
 Import/Export (DTS) and Replication (2000)
 any idea

Author  Topic 

notsosuper
Posting Yak Master

190 Posts

Posted - 2005-07-29 : 14:14:28
I have a query from sql, I need this query to run automatically twice a day and transfer updated data to access actually I wanted to transfer to outlook 2003 but it is not possible I guess, How do that? any idea?

Kristen
Test

22859 Posts

Posted - 2005-07-29 : 14:16:53
Setup a DTS task and schedule it?

Kristen
Go to Top of Page

notsosuper
Posting Yak Master

190 Posts

Posted - 2005-07-29 : 14:29:11
can you please explain a little more, I have never done it before.
Go to Top of Page

notsosuper
Posting Yak Master

190 Posts

Posted - 2005-07-29 : 14:34:06
job scheduling would do that right?
Go to Top of Page

Kristen
Test

22859 Posts

Posted - 2005-07-29 : 14:37:39
In essence:

1) Build a DTS task - its pretty much Point & Click in Enterprise Manager, unless you have something particularly complicated

2) Once you have built & tested your DTS job you can schedule it to run as often as you like

Kristen
Go to Top of Page

notsosuper
Posting Yak Master

190 Posts

Posted - 2005-07-29 : 14:40:14
only think on that, I have tried that , but it is asking where to job to execute, but how can transfered to access or outlook location on that task, i didn't see that part in job scheduling part of Enterprise.
Go to Top of Page

notsosuper
Posting Yak Master

190 Posts

Posted - 2005-07-29 : 14:44:02
i did select tools and import data, then selected from where to import and I want to select OLE DB for outlook search option, but on the connection part what is my data source i don't know how to specify this,
Go to Top of Page

Kristen
Test

22859 Posts

Posted - 2005-07-29 : 14:57:58