Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 Development Tools
 Other Development Tools
 SQL Error '80040e09'

Author  Topic 

SSL
Starting Member

4 Posts

Posted - 2005-08-11 : 15:23:42
Hi,
I'm new to ASP and was fixing some bugs in the ASP pages. We have a production web server and another one for development. I was working against the devleopment and couple of the pages has a call to the same stored Proc and it works in one and it gives and error on the other. Main page displays the result of the stored procedure and there is a link "Export to Excel" which calls another page and it uses the same connection. But it gives and Error-

Microsoft OLE DB Provider for SQL Server error '80040e09'

Select Permission denied on object 'Region', database 'Intranet',owner 'dbo'

/X_Reporting/ExcelGens/DivSumExcelGen.asp, Line 51

Both the pages uses the same connection and I tried the output from the webpage on the Analyzer window for this user and it works fine. I'm lost.
Any help is appreciated.

AjarnMark
SQL Slashing Gunting Master

3246 Posts

Posted - 2005-08-11 : 15:36:13
Sounds like your SQL user has permissions to EXECUTE the stored procedure used by Page 1, but not the SELECT statement used on Page 2. If the stored procedure for Page 2 uses Dynamic SQL (i.e. and EXEC or sp_executesql) statement, then the user MUST have SELECT permissions on the base tables and not just EXECUTE permissions on the stored procedure.

---------------------------
EmeraldCityDomains.com
Go to Top of Page

SSL
Starting Member

4 Posts

Posted - 2005-08-11 : 15:52:23
No both the pages uses the same method -try to open a recordset and both calls the same procedure with the same parameters.

Here is the piece of code.

Set rsGenExcel=Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Recordset")

rsGenExcel.CursorLocation = adUseClient

sqlStr="usp_UsageByDivision " & sqlVars