Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 General SQL Server Forums
 New to SQL Server Programming
 Need help with triggers

Author  Topic 

michelleNoby
Starting Member

12 Posts

Posted - 2006-04-24 : 23:01:29
Hi, I am quite new to sql and i need a solution to this problem with triggers.
Here's the question.
Create a DELETE trigger on the NewProducts table. This trigger determines whether an order history exists in the Order Details table before the trigger permits a deletion from the NewProducts table. NewProducts was created in the previous questions. The created trigger determines whether an order history exists for a product
being deleted. If the product has never been ordered, then the product can be deleted. If the product has a history of orders then the delete from the product table is rolled back and the trigger is to return a custom error message.
(I dont even know how to start this)

blindman
Master Smack Fu Yak Hacker

2365 Posts

Posted - 2006-04-24 : 23:17:06
quote:
Originally posted by michelleNoby

...NewProducts was created in the previous questions...

Hmmmm...what makes me think this is a plea for homework help? Hmmm....
quote:

...(I dont even know how to start this)...
You could start with lesson 1 from the beginning of the semester.

This type of problem can often be solved by a technique known as an "NZDF" solution among RDBMS SQL developers. I'm not that good with writing NZDF functions, but hopefully someone else on the forum can supply you with one...
Go to Top of Page

jen

4110 Posts

Posted - 2006-04-24 : 23:23:10
I suggest don't go for triggers,
create an sproc where the user can issue the delete and do the checking there

if you have no control over the table, like users can directly make deletions, then hope the code below helps, read more in BOL for create triggers...