Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 SQL Server 2005 Forums
 High Availability (2005)
 Cannot use a CONTAINS or FREETEXT predicate.......

Author  Topic 

methodology
Starting Member

31 Posts

Posted - 2006-07-20 : 08:36:54
Hi

Im trying to set up SQL replication between two sql 2005 boxes. Im a newbie so Im taking a tiny step forwsard, hitting a wall, Googling for half and hour and then progressing another miniscule amount.

however, I cant get past my latest error.

I have enabled full test replcation on the database that I want to replicate - I set the value to 'true' when I set up the snapshot. Then after an error and some googling, I ran

use <database>
go
exec sp_fulltext_database 'enable'
go

to apparently tell the replica server that I had infact turned on Full Text Searching on the master and to stop being a nobbo and to just get on with it.

Now im getting

"Cannot use a CONTAINS or FREETEXT predicate on table or indexed view 'dbo.arc_bodies' because it is not full-text indexed."

I have googled and found the following:

sp_changepublication @publication = 'yyy'
, @property = 'sync_method'
, @value = 'native'
, @force_invalidate_snapshot = 1

which I run with no success. I substitue 'yyy' for the name of the database AND the name of the publication on BOTH the Master and Replica servers but no matter what I do or where I run it, I get:

Msg 14013, Level 16, State 1, Procedure sp_MSrepl_changepublication, Line 94

This database is not enabled for publication.

when surely it is???? - publication is setup and the snapshot is created....

Can someone dig me out of my pit of frustration? or point me in the direction of a step by step guide for complete dumba**es?...

Thanks is advance

Alastair Jones

nr
SQLTeam MVY

12543 Posts

Posted - 2006-07-20 : 08:40:57
Are you try to install replication or full text search?