Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 General SQL Server Forums
 New to SQL Server Programming
 Front end application

Author  Topic 

associates
Starting Member

31 Posts

Posted - 2006-08-25 : 02:01:22
Hi,

I'd like to get some help on this. I'm new to SQL Server but am keen to learn it. I have SQL Server 2000 SP4 running and wonder what kind of front end application is best suited for SQL Server 2000.

Thank you in advance

SwePeso
Patron Saint of Lost Yaks

30421 Posts

Posted - 2006-08-25 : 02:07:32
Almost any programming language will be able to use SQL Server 2000 as backend.
Any modern programming language will work. Use the one that is most comfortable for you.

I think the there most popular languages [alphabetically] are C#, Delphi and VB.Net.

Peter Larsson
Helsingborg, Sweden
Go to Top of Page

Lumbago
Norsk Yak Master

3271 Posts

Posted - 2006-08-25 : 03:32:15
Delphi? Are you serious? I'd say ASP, VB, VB.NET, C#...but it's like comparing a car designer with a car mechanic. You can't have one without the other, but the designer can design different cars and the mechanic can work with different engines. Usually one only gets really good with one of them...

Edit: forgot about PHP...that's also pretty popular

--
Lumbago
"Real programmers don't document, if it was hard to write it should be hard to understand"
Go to Top of Page

SwePeso
Patron Saint of Lost Yaks

30421 Posts

Posted - 2006-08-25 : 03:52:19
I mostly use VB as front end. ASP & vbscript sometimes.
But heavy duty DLL calculations such as number crunching, I write in Delphi and call from VB, since I am an old Pascal guy . Database calls I do from VB.

Peter Larsson
Helsingborg, Sweden
Go to Top of Page

afrika
Master Smack Fu Yak Hacker

2706 Posts

Posted - 2006-08-25 : 05:53:21
quote:
Originally posted by associates

Hi,