Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 Old Forums
 CLOSED - General SQL Server
 Rcommend good SQL SERVER 2005 books

Author  Topic 

sunil
Constraint Violating Yak Guru

282 Posts

Posted - 2006-12-29 : 08:00:14
I have been using SQL SERVER 200 for last 2 years for building web based things and would say myself intermediate in it.Now I want to shift to SQL server 2005. I would like to know some good books on SLQ SERVER 2005 so that I can get thorough knwodledge of it and raise my level in SQL.
Regards

harsh_athalye
Master Smack Fu Yak Hacker

5581 Posts

Posted - 2006-12-29 : 08:06:48
I would recommend,

Microsoft SQL Server 2005 New Features by Michael Otey

Since you are already familiar with SQL 2000, there is no point in again reading about how you can create table, insert data into it and stuff like that.

Also there are separate books if you want to explore some specific part of SQL 2005 in detail like Integration Services. Check them out at Amazon.com.

Harsh Athalye
India.
"The IMPOSSIBLE is often UNTRIED"
Go to Top of Page

sunil
Constraint Violating Yak Guru

282 Posts

Posted - 2006-12-29 : 08:44:07
Thanks for your sugesstion.Just wanted to know that if i can install express edition and standard edition of sql 2005 on same machine running simultaneously.I believe express edition doesnot have advance features supported as mentioned by you.Will they conflict .
Regards
Go to Top of Page

russell
Pyro-ma-ni-yak

5072 Posts

Posted - 2006-12-29 : 11:34:54
u can install both. won't conflict. unless u mean on a production system, in which case they will contend for memory, cpu. no problem locally or on test environment
Go to Top of Page

afrika

2706 Posts

Posted - 2006-12-29 : 17:15:18
http://www.sqlteam.com/store.asp
Go to Top of Page

jwize
Starting Member

7 Posts

Posted - 2006-12-30 : 00:33:08