Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 SQL Server 2000 Forums
 Transact-SQL (2000)
 Error varchar to datetime

Author  Topic 

rexx
Starting Member

7 Posts

Posted - 2007-01-06 : 18:40:24
I have been receiving the folowing error:

Error SQL :EXEC lin_SetLastTaxUpdate '2007-0-6 12:0:03', '2007-0-6 0:0:1', '2007-0-6 6:0:1', (0)
Error converting data type varchar to datetime

This has only started to occur at the beginning of the Month of January, it has been fine for 5 Months prior.
I am no SQL expert but I can see that the Month is being registered as a 0 instead of a 1. I have tried several of my own fixes and have searched for answers but have not come up with a solution.
Any assistence would be appreciated.

Below is the stored procedure:

/********************************************
lin_SetLastTaxUpdate

INPUT
@income datetime,
@tax datetime
OUTPUT

********************************************/
CREATE PROCEDURE [DBO].[lin_SetLastTaxUpdate]
(
@income datetime,
@tax datetime,
@manor datetime
)
AS

SET NOCOUNT ON

IF EXISTS(SELECT * FROM castle_tax)
BEGIN
UPDATE castle_tax SET income_update = @income, tax_change = @tax, manor_reset = @manor
END
ELSE
BEGIN
INSERT INTO castle_tax VALUES
( @income, @tax, @manor)

END

GO

jezemine
Master Smack Fu Yak Hacker

2886 Posts

Posted - 2007-01-06 : 19:42:28
Doesn't the error msg give you a hint?

EXEC lin_SetLastTaxUpdate '2007-0-6 12:0:03', '2007-0-6 0:0:1', '2007-0-6 6:0:1'

These dates aren't valid, as can be seen by executing this:

select cast('2007-0-6 12:0:03' as datetime)