Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 General SQL Server Forums
 New to SQL Server Programming
 Retrieving Japanese Characters

Author  Topic 

smilingjoe.anonimo
Starting Member

7 Posts

Posted - 2007-02-15 : 08:52:29
Hi there,

I am a newbie in this forum, and I hope the answer to my question has not been posted somewhere already.

Since few weeks I work in Japan. We have MS SQL Server 7.0, Windows on my laptop is german XP SP2 Pro with all available updates, Office is english 2003 SP2 with all the updates.

In Access I link tables from the SQL Server via ODBC, and everything works perfectly fine. Only, I can not retrieve the japanese text, e. g. customer name. All the other relevant fields are either numeric or numbers in text fields (i. e. with leading zeros), I can read all of them without problems.

I also installed the support for east-asian languages, and in Outlook, IE, Firefox I can see the japanese characters without problems.

I really would apreciate any hint how I could solve this issue, since I spent the whole day searching for a solution, but in vain.

Joe

SwePeso
Patron Saint of Lost Yaks

30421 Posts

Posted - 2007-02-15 : 12:25:47
You have to use columns with UNICODE support in order to see Japanese characters.

Peter Larsson
Helsingborg, Sweden
Go to Top of Page

smilingjoe.anonimo
Starting Member

7 Posts

Posted - 2007-02-15 : 19:28:34
Hello Peter,

thank you for your quick reply. I understand the concept of Unicode, but how can I influence the columns? I did not see where I could set any parameter, I only link the table through ODBC, but from there, I do not see how I could influence the character support. In SAP, the names are displayed correctly, so it is not a DB problem but a problem in my way of linking, I guess.

Joe
Go to Top of Page

smilingjoe.anonimo
Starting Member

7 Posts