Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 SQL Server 2005 Forums
 SQL Server Administration (2005)
 Table Partitions & RAID 5.

Author  Topic 

Hariarul
Posting Yak Master

160 Posts

Posted - 2007-08-28 : 01:31:10
Hi experts,

We have a huge table with around 250 million records and have implemented SQL server 2005's new table partitioning feature. Now the data seems to be evenly spread across 20 different filegroups ( each 5 GB approx ) for the same table that was occupying 100 GB itself in the PRIMARY filegroup earlier.

Still the query response times have not come down drastically but we could see a good improvement in the execution plans now.

WE ARE USING RAID 5 IN OUR PRODUCTION ENVIRONMENT. ANY IDEA / THOUGHT ON HOW TO PLACE THE PARTITIONED FILEGROUPS AND THE LOG FILES IN THE RAID 5 (BTW , I'm very new to RAID concepts , any detailed instruction would be helpful ).

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Hariarul

SwePeso
Patron Saint of Lost Yaks

30421 Posts

Posted - 2007-08-28 : 01:42:47
The most important thing here to remember is that without any proper indexes, the speed will not increase.

E 12°55'05.25"
N 56°04'39.16"
Go to Top of Page

Hariarul
Posting Yak Master

160 Posts

Posted - 2007-08-28 : 01:48:20
Thanks Peso. We have indexed the tables properly. The response times are within few seconds as expected. My comment was I didnt find any difference much in performance when compared to the partitioned table and the non partitioned table.

Any inputs for my query regarding the RAID 5 ?
Go to Top of Page

evjo
Starting Member

20 Posts

Posted - 2007-08-28 : 05:06:04