Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 SQL Server 2008 Forums
 SQL Server Administration (2008)
 access is denied (problems with attaching a DB)

Author  Topic 

arian
Starting Member

5 Posts

Posted - 2010-08-07 : 07:02:35
It is my first post here, so I have to say hello everyone :)

I am new to SQL and
all I have done in SQL server is a project with tree different databases that I use their entries in a C# program.

I had Win xp, SQL 2005 and Visuall studio 2005.

Some days ago I installed
Win 7,SQL 2008 and Visual studio 2008.

The problem is that
I can't have any of my databases attached to SQL.
Any time I try to attach a DB I get this error:

Failed to retrieve data for this request. (Microsoft.SqlServer.Management.Sdk.Sfc)

For help, click: http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink?ProdName=Microsoft+SQL+Server&LinkId=20476

------------------------------
ADDITIONAL INFORMATION:

An exception occurred while executing a Transact-SQL statement or batch. (Microsoft.SqlServer.ConnectionInfo)

------------------------------

CREATE FILE encountered operating system error 5(Access is denied.) while attempting to open or create the physical file 'G:\AI\dataBase\myWord\myWords.mdf'. (Microsoft SQL Server, Error: 5123)

For help, click: http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink?ProdName=Microsoft+SQL+Server&ProdVer=09.00.3042&EvtSrc=MSSQLServer&EvtID=5123&LinkId=20476

I can create/attach/detach new DBs with no problems for one time!!
Yesterday I created a test Data Base and eveything was all right but today I cant have it attached and I get the same error.

I read many forums about this problem and I guess
it is what is refered to as the NTFS problem.
Can you please help me to solve it?

Tnx
Arian

PS the fstream option is active with full access.

SwePeso
Patron Saint of Lost Yaks

30421 Posts

Posted - 2010-08-07 : 07:46:06