Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 Other Forums
 Other Topics
 job market for sql skills

Author  Topic 

joe8079
Posting Yak Master

127 Posts

Posted - 2011-07-25 : 20:24:31
Hi,

I use SQL server for most of the day to run a lot of reports for different departments, some reports are easy while others are more complicated. What is the job market like for someone with strong sql programming skills? Note, I have zero experience in managing sql servers or adminstration.

tkizer
Almighty SQL Goddess

38200 Posts

Posted - 2011-07-25 : 20:32:20
Use dice.com and search for anything that says SQL.

Job market is pretty good for those with excellent skills.

Tara Kizer
Microsoft MVP for Windows Server System - SQL Server
http://weblogs.sqlteam.com/tarad/

Subscribe to my blog
Go to Top of Page

Transact Charlie
Master Smack Fu Yak Hacker

3451 Posts

Posted - 2011-07-26 : 07:56:59
I'm in the UK so this might not be quite the same as the US market.

There are definitely jobs out there for good candidates. Saying that though, it's really difficult to find good database developers. There are a lot of very average people about who seem to think they are awesome / amazing. Many of these people are contractors who are looking for £300 - £400 per day and I wouldn't hire them if they worked for free.

I've seen a lot of CV's and given lots of interviews now and most of the candidates we get struggle with basic questions which indicate they don't know / don't care about efficient code. My company's database is moderate in size but the data changes constantly and we need to drive a lot of aggregation in different dimensions on it. The difference between hitting a good index to not is milliseconds to tens of seconds. The flip side is obviously you need to be able to choose to create the *right* indexes for the data.