Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 General SQL Server Forums
 New to SQL Server Programming
 SQL Learning progression

Author  Topic 

SQLStott
Starting Member

7 Posts

Posted - 2011-08-24 : 13:59:04
I have been learning SQL 08 for about 7 months now and MySQL for about 3 months. I had a college course on MySQL but I couldn't get my head around it quick enough? I have continued with the work and have the basics of MySQL down now. The gentleman I work for says this probably isn't for me, I really like working with databases (I'm teaching myself), but I work full-time, teach college in a classroom, family, grandkids,so I can only work on it when I can. My question is this progression normal,I feel if I was in front of it everyday for say 8 hrs I would be farther along then I am presently? I want to become successful at this, but I need some suggestions.

Craig A Stott

gwilson67
Starting Member

42 Posts

Posted - 2011-08-25 : 00:45:03
Hello Craig,

Don't give up. It just takes a little patience to learn. I would suggest you take a look at a TSQL Code Repository. Having worked as a SQL Server Trainer and Consultant over the last decade, I developed many scripts that have been extremely valuable in performing my duties. Whether that was training or developing SQL Server solutions for clients. I started keeping all of my special scripts in a database that I shared with other consultants. They also were able to add a lot of their scripts also into the database.

Our lifetime of learning is now contained within this application. If I could have had this tool when I first started out, I would have surpassed everyone that I worked with because the ideas and resources contained in this application is something that usually comes from years and years of experience.