Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 SQL Server 2012 Forums
 Transact-SQL (2012)
 Create SQL procedure to Import Excel file in SQL12

Author  Topic 

SQL_Support_2015
Starting Member

7 Posts

Posted - 2015-01-16 : 05:11:39
I am not a SQL developer but having basic understanding and looking for your help. I need to import regularly several excel files in SQL 2012 manually and it take most of my time.

I am looking for a SQL script that will help me to import excel file automatically as following:

1. Create a procedure in SQL that will to import a designated excel file into a designated SQL table in SQL server 2012.

2. The procedure must allow the user to specify the following options:
- Source file name and location;
- SQL table to be affected;
- Type of importation to be done (e.g. Append, Create or Reset);

If the user specifies “Append”, the script must insert the data coming from the excel file to the designated SQL table.

If the user specifies “Create”, the script must create a SQL table where the data will be inserted.

If the user specifies “Reset” the script must delete all the data within the SQL existing table and put the new data coming from the file.

In SQL the procedure must accept input parameters and will look something like:

CREATE PROCEDURE ImportfilesTextFile
(
@TABLENAME VARCHAR(1000),
@filepath varchar(1000),
@TypeOfUpdate varchar(50),
@FIELDTERMINATOR varchar(1),
@ROWTERMINATOR varchar(2)
)

The user will then write a command like

EXEC ImportfilesTextFile 'SQL_Table_Name','C:\FilePath\filename.csv', 'Append', '|', '/n'

Looking forward for your support.
Rajinder

--Below is the example for approch

Create procedure ImportExcelFile
(@Source varchar(1000)
, @SourceSheet varchar (100)
, @DestinationTable varchar (100))
as

declare @retval int