Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 General SQL Server Forums
 New to SQL Server Programming
 Using DATEDIFF() with MAXDATE() in WHERE clause

Author  Topic 

Sam Spade
Starting Member

3 Posts

Posted - 2015-03-06 : 12:29:41
Hey guys, I've been on this problem for a couple hours with no luck. I'm hoping someone here can help me. This is my first time on here so hopefully I'll be able to explain this well enough.

I'm working in an enrollment table where members have multiple enrollment segments that determine whether they are currently enrolled or not. All historical enrollment segments are listed as separate rows and include an effective date and termination date for that segment. If the member is currently enrolled, one of the enrollment segments will have an enrollment date of 12/31/2078, and this will always be the highest term date listed. The relevant column names are enrollid, effdate, termdate, memid. The enrollid is the primary key unique to each row, for each separate enrollment segment. The memid is a unique member identifier listed in the member table, and this is how the two tables are joined. There's virtually an infinite number of enrollment segments and date configurations possible among our membership. If I wanted to display all of the enrollment segments for a given member, the code would be:

select *
from enrollkeys e
inner join member m on m.memid = e.memid

To illustrate, a member may have been enrolled from 01/01/2010 through 12/31/2011, this would show as it's own row with a unique enrollid. Then there may be another row for the same member if they were enrolled from 01/01/2011 through present, again with a unique enrollid. Notice that because the termdate from the older segment is on the day before the effdate on the next one, this member would NOT have had a lapse in membership.