Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 SQL Server 2008 Forums
 SQL Server Administration (2008)
 How Best to Troubleshoot Performance Issue

Author  Topic 

jkbeau1
Starting Member

12 Posts

Posted - 2015-04-10 : 11:17:18
I'm new to the forum so please be patient.

As an introduction, I would classify myself as a SQL Developer and not so much a SQL DBA, however, I am being asked to try and increase performance relating to a table in our database. I'm also fairly new to the company so I don't have all the answers as to why this table contains all of the indexes it contains, but I suspect that the number of indexes has a lot to do with this issue.

Our client sent us the following report:

And this is the list of indexes currently on what appears to be the offending table (JBM_BCMPColumns):

As you can see, there are 10 indexes, most being non-clustered covering indexes. Based on the report and the fact that the lengthiest CPU hog is an UPDATE to the JBM_BCMPColumns table, it appears that this is the place to start.

What would be next steps? Am I reading this report correctly?

Thanks!

MichaelJSQL
Constraint Violating Yak Guru

252 Posts

Posted - 2015-04-10 : 11:46:13
Find out if all the indexes are being used. if your server has been up for a while, then this should help. if it has been restarted - you will have to have enough up time and usage to determine how much each index is getting used.

-- edited and added select
Select object_name(dbis.object_id),i.name indexname,rCnts.index_id,isnull(dbis.last_user_seek,dbis.last_user_scan) usage,rCnts.cnt, dbis.* from sys.dm_db_index_usage_stats dbis
inner join (SELECT database_id,object_id,Index_id,sum(user_seeks + User_scans + User_lookups) cnt
from sys.dm_db_index_usage_stats
group by database_id,object_id,Index_id