Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 SQL Server 2000 Forums
 SQL Server Development (2000)
 need help

Author  Topic 

janus006
Starting Member

4 Posts

Posted - 2010-05-16 : 07:14:43

I'm new to this wonderful forum.
I'm developping a VB6.0 application that accesses data of sql server2000. I made a successful linking with recordset and so on, I use sql queries through VB6.0 with no problem.
Now I got 5 users for the application, the boss and the 4 crew members.
I want the boss, to see and do everything he wants.
a crew can see only his data, not his fellow's data unless he is authorized by the boss(prior) or by the meant fellow.

I think about creating a users table, and link users' table to all the tables and add 'and where user= joe' whenever I want data for joe.

but I want to see if isn't there any other elegant solution, within sql server and using standard sql server users that are in the data bases.
please help me
thanks in advance

says the newbie

says the newbie

visakh16
Very Important crosS Applying yaK Herder

52326 Posts

Posted - 2010-05-16 : 08:12:37
seems like what you need is to create a security model in sql server db. add table for user,usergroups and add a access table which maps to usergroups. then based on access display relevant items in your webpage. you could add a approval table also with member info to indicate who all can do approval for a particular access

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SQL Server MVP
http://visakhm.blogspot.com/

Go to Top of Page

janus006
Starting Member

4 Posts

Posted - 2010-05-16 : 08:22:18
thanks a lot for you reply visakh16.