Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 SQL Server 2005 Forums
 Express Edition and Compact Edition (2005)
 CREATE DATABASE failed??

Author  Topic 

motifman22
Starting Member

4 Posts

Posted - 2011-01-03 : 11:18:16
I am new to SQL Server and am trying to install a program called T-HUB (order syncing software for Quickbooks Point of Sale and our online store). When attempting to install this program, it gives the following error message:

TITLE: Microsoft SQL Server 2005 Setup
------------------------------
SQL Server Setup failed to execute a command for server configuration. The error was [Microsoft][SQL Native Client][SQL Server]CREATE DATABASE failed. Some file names listed could not be created. Check related errors.. Refer to the server error logs and Setup logs for detailed error information.

I have spoken to the software creator a few times and he is not sure what is going on here. He suggested I uninstall SQL Server and then try installing the program again, but I still haven't had any luck. Thanks in advance for any help!

russell
Pyro-ma-ni-yak

5072 Posts

Posted - 2011-01-03 : 12:27:04
Likely a permissions iussue, but your software vendor might be the only one who can say for sure. Telling you to reinstall SQL Server, without 1st checking anything, is not an acceptable answer.

You can check the SQL Server logs and Windows application log, but again, the application may be the problem.
Go to Top of Page

nigelrivett
Master Smack Fu Yak Hacker

3385 Posts

Posted - 2011-01-03 : 20:40:15
You can probably use the profiler to find the statement that is failing.
Could be that the files for the database already exists or that it can't create them for some other reason. Maybe it has a fixed path or you have something in the default path it doesn't allow for.