Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 General SQL Server Forums
 New to SQL Server Programming
 CASE Creates Duplicate Rows

Author  Topic 

skinfreak
Starting Member

2 Posts

Posted - 2011-04-18 : 12:15:30
I am by no means a SQL programmer but trying my best. I have a problem where using the Case Expression introduces duplicate rows to the returned data set.

If I take out the code with the CASE expression, the query executes correctly. I have tried using a MAX function but this returns an error because of thel ogic witihn the CASE expression I think. I am stuck!

My code is as follows:

SELECT DISTINCT vwTMActualOperation.OperationRecordID,
vwTMActualOperation.SpecialtyDescription,
vwSPPlannedSession.StartDate,
vwTMActualOperation.LocationOfOperationDescription,
vwSPActualSession.ConsultantName,
/* Lots more to add....*/

(CASE
WHEN (CheckListID = 'PREOP' and QuestionID in (3,5) and RelatedQuestionID = 2 and QuestionText IS NULL) THEN
(SELECT (vwTMPatientChecklist.QuestionID))

WHEN (CheckListID = 'PREOP' and vwTMPatientChecklist.QuestionID = 25 AND vwTMPatientChecklist.RelatedQuestionID = 24) THEN
(SELECT (vwTMPatientChecklist.QuestionID))

/*Ignore ELSE if happy with NULL values*/
/*ELSE 0*/
END) Completed,

vwTMActualOperation.CasenoteNumber

FROM (((((vwSPPlannedSession
INNER JOIN vwTMPlannedOperation ON vwSPPlannedSession.SessionRecordID=vwTMPlannedOperation.SessionRecordID)
INNER JOIN vwFMLocation ON vwSPPlannedSession.DepartmentLocationCode=vwFMLocation.LocationCode)
LEFT OUTER JOIN vwSPActualSession ON vwSPPlannedSession.SessionRecordID=vwSPActualSession.SessionRecordID)
INNER JOIN vwTMActualOperation ON vwTMPlannedOperation.OperationRecordID=vwTMActualOperation.OperationRecordID)
INNER JOIN vwTMPatientChecklist ON vwTMActualOperation.OperationRecordID=vwTMPatientChecklist.OperationRecordID)