Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 SQL Server 2012 Forums
 Replication (2012)
 Two Site Replication

Author  Topic 

lowfreq
Starting Member

1 Post

Posted - 2013-06-12 : 13:27:29
Im looking at putting in a two server replication model for SQL server 2008.

I'm new to replication, so my question is this...
Our requirement is to have Near Time Sync between two servers, sharing the same instance/data.

Both servers must allow Read and Write.

I've been looking around and I think I need Transactional Replication, but it doesn't say whether writes are permitted to the subscriber.

Thank you for any help you can provide!

tkizer
Almighty SQL Goddess

38200 Posts

Posted - 2013-06-14 : 14:29:55
Have you looked at peer to peer replication?

You should consider SQL Server 2012's AlwaysOn feature where you can have a readable replica. You'd only have one replica that's writing, but you'd have two replicas for reading.

Tara Kizer
Microsoft MVP for Windows Server System - SQL Server
http://weblogs.sqlteam.com/tarad/

Subscribe to my blog
Go to Top of Page

russell
Pyro-ma-ni-yak

5072 Posts

Posted - 2013-06-14 : 22:03:20
Peer to Peer, as Tara pointed out, is probably the way to go. You will need to manage identity columns and make sure all replicated tables have primary keys, but other than that, it's pretty easy to setup and maintain.

As for identity columns, seed them so there can be no conflicts. For example, in a two node topography, seed the identities on one server odd and the other even. DO NOT box yourself in so that you could run out of numbers (like seeding server A at 1 and server B and 1,000,000). There is no conflict resolution in peer to peer, so you will have to ensure that primary key values are distinct accross all nodes in the topology.