Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 SQL Server 2000 Forums
 SQL Server Administration (2000)
 SQL Clustering

Author  Topic 

Jay1Jay
Yak Posting Veteran

50 Posts

Posted - 2004-05-19 : 11:56:32
I'm new to SQL and company has asked me to look into SQL clustering as well as instances. We are basically consolidating SQL Servers into one big cluster SQL server. I want to know what is the take of some people using this type of enviorment. Basically I have about 10 different applications whose database will reside in this enviroment. Most of the application require one login but there are some which require regular users. I guess in that case I would use instances. I just wanted to find out the pros and cons for this type of enivorment. Any help would be appreicated...

thanks,

Jay

nr
SQLTeam MVY

12543 Posts

Posted - 2004-05-19 : 12:02:12
What do you expect to get out of clustering and separate instances?
i.e. what are the business requirements for the system that are driving this?

==========================================
Cursors are useful if you don't know sql.
DTS can be used in a similar way.
Beer is not cold and it isn't fizzy.
Go to Top of Page

tkizer
Almighty SQL Goddess

38200 Posts

Posted - 2004-05-19 : 13:04:55
Clustering is used for high availability. Do you have high availability requirements?

Using multiple instances is not used for different kinds of logins. You can achieve that in one instance.

Tara
Go to Top of Page

Jay1Jay
Yak Posting Veteran

50 Posts

Posted - 2004-05-19 : 13:37:20
Well, currently we have appox 10 applications running on 10 different database server, so I would combine all the databases into one server and we can save SQL licensing as well as hardware cost. As far as clustering we don't want any downtime for these apps.

The business requirments are cost savings....

quote: