Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 Old Forums
 CLOSED - General SQL Server
 SQL Server does not exist or access denied

Author  Topic 

Nim
Starting Member

2 Posts

Posted - 2004-08-22 : 05:50:25
Hi..
I'm a newbie at SQL and would appreciate anyone's help with this.

I've set up MS SQL 2000 on Win XP(Pro).When I log into the system using my account and try to access the sql server through my webpg, I get the following error - SQL Server does not exist or access denied. I have attached the details below.

My system is the server and I'm using IIS to run the webpg. MS SQL was installed with 'mixed' authentication and my account id was also added into Security/Login. And there are no probs connecting to the database in Enterprise Manager.Could there be any configuration problem?

warmest regards,
Nim

Details:
Description: An unhandled exception occurred during the execution of the current web request. Please review the stack trace for more information about the error and where it originated in the code.

Exception Details: System.Data.SqlClient.SqlException: SQL Server does not exist or access denied.

Source Error:

Line 31: SqlCommand objCommand = new SqlCommand(strSQL,objConnection);
Line 32:
Line 33: objConnection.Open();
Line 34: dgNamelist.DataSource= objCommand.ExecuteReader();
Line 35: dgNamelist.DataBind();

Source File: D:\finalFYP\webroot\SQLServer_connection.aspx Line: 33

Stack Trace:

[SqlException: SQL Server does not exist or access denied.]
System.Data.SqlClient.ConnectionPool.GetConnection(Boolean& isInTransaction) +484
System.Data.SqlClient.SqlConnectionPoolManager.GetPooledConnection(SqlConnectionString options, Boolean& isInTransaction) +372
System.Data.SqlClient.SqlConnection.Open() +384