Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 SQL Server 2000 Forums
 SQL Server Administration (2000)
 Hardware recommendation for SQL 2K cluster server

Author  Topic 

fredong
Yak Posting Veteran

80 Posts

Posted - 2005-04-19 : 11:16:43
I am new to clustering and I need Hardware recommendation for SQL 2000 cluster server. Anybody knows what will be a good hardware recommendation for a 2 nodes and a 4 nodes clustering. Thanks.

k

MichaelP
Jedi Yak

2489 Posts

Posted - 2005-04-19 : 13:21:05
It depends :)

You need to analyze your existing system, and see where your bottleneck are.

Here are a few generlizations:
1. Get as much RAM as you can afford. You want enough to put your entire DB in memory if possible.

2. Get as many spindles as your can afford. I'd reccomend a Fibre Channel solution from IBM, EMC, Hitachi, HP, etc.
You'll want two disks for Quorum and TX Logs, 4-8 Disks for data in RAID 1/0. Here again, it depends on how hard you hit TX Logs and how hard you hit your data. 8 disks might be overkill for your data and 2 disks might not be enough for TXLogs.

Personally, I don't care for the EMC hardware. I've used IBM for servers and storage on my last two clusters, and I've been very pleased.

Michael

<Yoda>Use the Search page you must. Find the answer you will.</Yoda>
Go to Top of Page

Thrasymachus
Constraint Violating Yak Guru

483 Posts

Posted - 2005-04-19 : 16:50:16
this guy is having serious problems with IBM's blade series and SQL Server.

http://www.dbforums.com/t1149752.html

Sean Roussy
Go to Top of Page

MichaelP
Jedi Yak

2489 Posts

Posted - 2005-04-19 : 18:15:01
I'm not sure I'd reccomend Blade Center or VMWare for a production SQL Server Cluster.

Get (2) IBM x345's or (2) IBM x445's and attach them to an IBM FastT700 (there's some new model number like DS4400 or something).