Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 SQL Server 2000 Forums
 Transact-SQL (2000)
 Bit vs Tinyint

Author  Topic 

pwcphoto
Yak Posting Veteran

69 Posts

Posted - 2006-08-24 : 22:07:25
Is there a speed advantage using the tinyint field to hold a status bit vs using a bit field? The tinyint field can be included in an index where a bit field cannot, does this buy me any speed or just complicate the indexes? I used the bit field to save space, but performance is more critical then space so I will go back to tinyint if that is best. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Phil

-----------------------
I used to be a rocket scientist. Now I'm just a space cadet...

Michael Valentine Jones
Yak DBA Kernel (pronounced Colonel)

7020 Posts

Posted - 2006-08-24 : 22:34:21
A bit column can be used in an index. Try it:

create table demo (demo_bit bit not null)

create index demo_bit_index on demo (demo_bit)

If a bit can hold the information, use a bit.

CODO ERGO SUM
Go to Top of Page

pwcphoto
Yak Posting Veteran

69 Posts

Posted - 2006-08-24 : 23:05:12
Using the enterprise manager in MSSQL 2000 it does not give you the option to select any of the fields that are type bit, so it wasn't clear if this was allowed. I will try and add one manually using your input via the query analyzer and see what happens.

Thanks,

Phil

-----------------------
Go to Top of Page

Michael Valentine Jones
Yak DBA Kernel (pronounced Colonel)

7020 Posts

Posted - 2006-08-24 : 23:10:38
Bit columns are usually poor candidates to include in an index, but there are some situations where it can be useful.

CODO ERGO SUM
Go to Top of Page

pwcphoto
Yak Posting Veteran

69 Posts

Posted - 2006-08-24 : 23:55:20