Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 SQL Server 2005 Forums
 Express Edition and Compact Edition (2005)
 Convert char to datetime dmy instead of mdy

Author  Topic 

m-snel
Starting Member

6 Posts

Posted - 2011-04-26 : 08:02:49
Hello,

I have an old application that runs on sql server 2000. I managed to get it working with sql server 2005 (for my new 64 bit windows 7 computer). I only have one problem: when I execute a report which uses a date, the interpretation is wrong (mdy instead of dmy). I attached a screenprint with the error.

The application cannot be changed, so how can I make sql server 2005 express use the dmy format? I'm a complete novice with sql server so please keep that in mind when answering.

In front I'd like to thank you very much for your efforts to help me.

raghuveer125
Constraint Violating Yak Guru

285 Posts

Posted - 2011-04-26 : 08:28:02
You post your query or see this will help you

select convert(varchar,getdate(),101)---this is my systme current date
Output:-04/26/2011

select Convert(varchar,getdate(),103) ---this is my systme current date
Output:-26/04/2011

Raghu' S
Go to Top of Page

AndrewMurphy
Master Smack Fu Yak Hacker

2916 Posts

Posted - 2011-04-26 : 08:28:24
a. invesitgate your regional settings - either your pc#'s version or the erver version
b. investigate the "set dateformat DMY" construct.
Go to Top of Page

m-snel
Starting Member

6 Posts

Posted - 2011-04-26 : 08:50:40
The query is embedded in the application itself (the application connects directly to sql server, both are installed and configured in the same setup). I see the picture with the error message is not embedded (how can I embed a jpg in my message)?