Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 SQL Server 2005 Forums
 SSIS and Import/Export (2005)
 Scheduled export to Excel and email

Author  Topic 

Fromper
Starting Member

33 Posts

Posted - 2014-12-15 : 17:22:09
I'm pretty new to this side of SQL, so I'm not sure how to do what I need, and I was hoping someone could point me to some step by step instructions, since I'm sure they must exist somewhere already.

I wrote a report as a stored procedure, and I need a way to schedule it to run weekly and email the results automatically to a business user. Ideally, this would be as an Excel attachment on the email. Making it a .csv won't work because there are commas in the data. If I can just schedule it to create the export every week on our network, we can use non-SQL means to email it to the user.

So I tried googling how to do this. [url=http://blog.sqlauthority.com/2008/01/08/sql-server-2005-export-data-from-sql-server-2005-to-microsoft-excel-datasheet/]This[/url] looked promising, but apparently, it only works if everything is 32 bit, and we've got a lot of 64 bit machines (not sure if it's all of them, but definitely the relevant ones for this).

Another possibility I found is sp_send_dbmail, but we don't have that configured to use, and I was unclear from what I read as to whether it could do an attachment in Excel format. I can probably figure out the configuration from the links I found, but it's not worth the effort until I'm sure it can handle Excel format, and how to tell it to do that. Anyone?