Please start any new threads on our new site at https://forums.sqlteam.com. We've got lots of great SQL Server experts to answer whatever question you can come up with.

All Forums
 SQL Server 2005 Forums
 Transact-SQL (2005)
 How to auto update

Author  Topic 

keesvo
Starting Member

10 Posts

Posted - 2015-03-31 : 07:34:53
Hello,

I want to auto update one column in a table for every new record. I think I have to use a stored procedure but I have no experience with that.

table = items
column = location

So when user 'X' scan a new item it will be inserted into table items.
So the location must be updated to 'location X' for items scanned by user 'X'. Is this possible.

I can also make a query and schedule this but i want this to be updated realtime.

Thank you in advance.

gbritton
Master Smack Fu Yak Hacker

2780 Posts

Posted - 2015-03-31 : 09:03:34
You don't have to use a stored procedure, though it may be a good idea. Tell us more about the process. I guess it's like this:

A person in a store or warehouse with a hand-held scanner, scans an item. The scanner sends something to a central station that then updates the database.

Is that it?
Go to Top of Page

keesvo
Starting Member

10 Posts

Posted - 2015-03-31 : 09:18:01
yes, we have warehouse users which are linked to one dedicated stock location. So when they are scanning an item a new entry is inserted in the table. But in the software we can't assign an auto location for each user. So now we have to go to a different module to move the item to the right location.

The entry which is created has default no location so it's empty or NULL. Is there a way to fix this so every new entry gets the right location (depending on which user has created this entry) ?
Go to Top of Page

gbritton

2780 Posts

Posted - 2015-03-31 : 09:34:53
quote:
Originally posted by keesvo